Snackventure: Logan Square Kitchen Pastry Market

Natalie, Shannon & Lisa

Well first and foremost BrutalSnack is proud to announce that we are now a menage a tou! Shannon and I could not face another day of snacking brutally without our dear friend Lisa of Brass Knuckle Brownies by our side. (We have one collective side, and it’s a bad side… so stay off of it.)

Now that we are complete, we took our snacking on the road (um, like a mile from all of our houses) and visited Logan Square Kitchen‘s fancy Pastry Market. That day also happened to be sweet little Shannon’s 24th birthday, so Lisa and I thought we’d try and drown our old lady sorrows in some sustainable pastries and sweets from B True Bakery, FIG Catering, Floriole Bakery, Flour Cake & Pastry, Katherine Anne Confections, Macaron Chicago, Nice Cream, Rare Bird Preserves, Rich Chocolates & Candies, Sugarkist, and Tinycakes.

Drown ’em we did, girl! Despite the hellacious crowds totally cock blocking our persist of cupcakes and the occasional crew of chatty old ladies, we did manage to snag quite  a haul – you can check it all out in our video ’cause this is a video blog, duh!

Check out all the vendors by clicking the links above, and as promised, here were just *some* of the caramel flavors we were all yapping about from Katherine Anne Confections: strawberry balsamic, chocolate walnut, honey vanilla, chocolate and fleur de sel.

Until next time, don’t stop snacking and keep it brutal!

9 Comments

  1. It pains me to not be a lady of Brutal Snack! Why do I not live in Chicago?! I expect to be a guest someday!

  2. very yummy info…i want to see some tasting next time.
    this video made me hungry. : )

  3. So First off I am loving all the bows . Next I am so ( despite what my hubby is saying) trying to plan a trip out to Chicago just to hang out with you Lovely Ladies. I wanna eat fancy pastries ( vegan and non) and be cute as a button for a day or 3 :). Great Video , I’m always excited to hear what you all have to say! xoxo

  4. Melisser and Joy – we would LOVE to have you on BrutalSnack! Vegan baking demos with Melisser and cute bow tips and tricks with Joy! (I gave Shannon the polka dot bow you sent me, it looks cute on her, right?)

  5. Great blog and video! I was stuck in the kitchen at the Pastry Market…hope I see you at the next one, coming in the spring.

  6. Thanks guys! I vote everyone just come move to Chicago so I have more people to stuff my face with!

  7. Woooww .. I am slowly but surely com-ple-te-ly falling in love with you gyals … cupcakes, brutalness, and food/sweets videos ! Hell yeah !!

  8. I wish I knew you gals when I was living in Chicago last year attending The French Pastry School. I like your style. 🙂

  9. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.

    Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Outstanding
    work!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

